## **Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group**

Mailing address: Tierrasanta Community Council, c/o Tierrasanta Library 4985 La Cuenta Drive, San Diego, CA 92124 ◆ www.tierrasantacc.org

Meetings: 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of the month except August & December at 6:30 pm at the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

## March 2014 Election

An election of Officers and Area Directors will take place on March 19, 2014. The following positions are standing for election for two-year terms:

Officers – open to any Tierrasanta resident or Tierrasanta property owner; two year term ending in March 2016

President Secretary

Area Directors – must reside or own property in the Area standing for election and be at least 18 years of age as of March 19, 2014. If the positions are not filled via the election process, then the seat can be converted to an at-large position and open to any Tierrasanta resident or Tierrasanta property owner. Terms are for two years, ending in March 2016.

Area 1 (seat currently held by Justin DeCesare – resident of Area 7)

Area 3 (seat currently held by Tom "TK" Keliinoi – resident of Area 3)

Area 4 (seat currently held by Donna Jackson – resident of Area 6)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Bonnie Alexander – resident of Area 7)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Rik Hauptfeld – resident of Area 7)

Area 8 (seat currently held by Matt Groza – resident of Area 7)

To be eligible for election as the Commercial Director, the candidate must be 18 years of age as of March 19, 2014, and operate or be employed by a business with a storefront in the 92124 zipcode. If no eligible candidate is elected, the position can be converted to an at-large position at the April 2014 TCC meeting.

Commercial Director – currently unfilled

Tierrasanta resident Hani Shatila was appointed in July 2013 to oversee the March 2014 TCC election process.

## **Schedule:**

The March 2014 election will be noticed in the October 3<sup>rd</sup>, October 24<sup>th</sup>, November 21<sup>st</sup> and December 19<sup>th</sup> *Tierra Times* about the election.

To be eligible for election in March 2014, candidates must have attended a Tierrasanta Community Council (TCC) meeting in the twelve months prior to January 31, 2014.

A 150-word statement must be submitted to the TCC no later than 5 pm on Wednesday, February 26th to the Tierrasanta Community Council at <a href="mailto:tierrasantacc.elect@gmail.com">tierrasantacc.elect@gmail.com</a> or to the Tierrasanta Community Council in care of the Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive – hand it to the staff at the desk and ask that it be placed in the Tierrasanta Library TCC mail box. Candidates must also state and sign that they either own property or reside in Tierrasanta and must provide contact information for TCC use only including their home and/or property address, phone and email.

The statements and the ballot will be printed in the March 13, 2014 issue of the *Tierra Times* and posted on the TCC website at <a href="www.tierrasantacc.org">www.tierrasantacc.org</a> beginning on Tuesday, March 11, 2014. The community will then have until 6 pm, March 19, 2014 to return their ballot to one of the locations in the community where ballot boxes will be located:

- Tierrasanta Library 4985 La Cuenta Drive
- The UPS Store 10615 Tierrasanta Blvd., Suites F&G

or to the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd., by 8 pm Wednesday, March 19, 2014.

The ballots will be counted and the results announced during the Annual Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council that will convene at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, March 19, 2014 at the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Voters may print the ballot from the website, cut the ballot out of the March 13<sup>th</sup> issue of the *Tierra Times* or use one of the printed ballots that will be located next to the ballot boxes in the community.

No write-ins are allowed.

The first meeting for the successful candidates will be the regular meeting of April 16, 2014, or any emergency or special meeting convened after March 19, 2014.