

Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, February 19, 2014 Meeting

6:30 pm • Tierrasanta Recreation Center • 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

<u>Please note:</u> Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance • Roll Call/Introductions – Determination of Quorum

Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

Fire Dept: Station 39 Battalion Captains Julie Bardsley, Carl Becker, Scott Lowe http://www.sandiego.gov/fire/

Police Department: Holly Tafoya <u>HHouchin@pd.sandiego.gov</u> and/or Lt. Steven Behrendt

Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Anthony Nguyen Anthony.Nguyen@mail.house.gov

State Senator Marty Block: 619-645-3133 Katelyn Hailey (Katelyn.Hailey@sen.ca.gov)

Assemblyman Brian Maienschein: 858-689-6290 Rob Knudsen robert.knudsen@asm.ca.gov

Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878

County Supervisor Dave Roberts: 619-531-5533 Wes Moore Wesley.Moore@sdcounty.ca.gov

Interim Mayor Todd Gloria: 619-236-6630

Councilmember Scott Sherman: 619-236-6677 Cassandra Weinlein CWeinlein@sandiego.gov

Deputy City Attorney: 619-236-6220

Board of Education: 619-838-5274 Kevin Beiser kbeiser@sandi.net

MCAS Miramar: 858-577-6603 Juan Lias juan.lias@usmc.mil

Non-agenda Public Comment: Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment will be referred to the appropriate TCC Committee.

Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

7:00 pm Item A – Approval of the Draft Minutes for the November 20, 2014 TCC meeting. 7:03 pm Item B – Approval of the Draft Minutes for the July 17, 2013 TCC meeting.

7:05 pm Information Item 1 (15 minutes): Presentation by Commissioner Rafael Castellanos, Unified Port of San Diego, on the Port's Master Plan Update – please visit http://portforall.org/ Tonight's action is to receive the report.

President: Tim Splinter • Vice President: Rich Thesing • Treasurer: Russ May Secretary: Deanna Spehn • <u>Directors</u>: Area 1 – Justin DeCesare; Area 2 – Steve Rider; Area 3 - Tom Keliinoi & Christy Patnoe; Area 4 – Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto & Donna Jackson; Area 5 – Anthony Ferebee; Area 6 - Loren Vinson; Area 7 - Bonnie Alexander, John Farmer & Rik Hauptfeld; Area 8 – Matt Groza; Commercial Director/At Large - **Vacant** Mailing address: c/o Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive, San Diego CA 92124 www.tierrasantacc.org • Tim Splinter – President timsplinter@gmail.com 858-634-0248

7:20 pm Action Item 2 (10 minutes): Anthony Ferebee will provide status of plans for Concert in the Park program for 2014 and Logowear sales, supplies and new orders. Tonight's action is to receive the reports and take action as required.

7:30 pm Action Item 4 (10 minutes): Treasurer Russ May will present the 2013 end-of-year Financial Report for the TCC. Tonight's action is to receive the report and take action as required.

7:40 pm New Business Item 9 TCC will consider items that may have been added to tonight's agenda, consistent with Council Policy 600-24 and the Brown Act, if there is a two-thirds vote by the TCC members to add the item(s).

7:45 pm – Adjournment – A two-thirds vote by the TCC is required to extend the meeting for 30 minutes beyond 9:50 pm. A vote is required for each 30-minute extension of the minute.

Upcoming 2014 TCC meetings at 6:30 pm in the Tierrasanta Recreation Center:

March 19, 2014 – Annual Meeting & Results of TCC Election

April 16, 2014 May 21, 2014 June 18, 2014 July 16, 2014 August – No Meeting September 17, 2014 October 15, 2014 November 19, 2014 December – No Meeting

March 2014 Election

An election of Officers and Area Directors will take place on March 19, 2014. The following positions are standing for election for two-year terms:

Officers – open to any Tierrasanta resident or 92124 (Tierrasanta) property owner; two year term ending in March 2016: 1) President and 2) Secretary

Area Directors – must reside or own property in the Area standing for election and be at least 18 years of age as of March 19, 2014. If the positions are not filled via the election process, then the seat can be converted to an at-large position and open to any Tierrasanta resident or Tierrasanta property owner through an appointment process at the April 2014 TCC meeting. Terms for the following positions are for two years, ending in March 2016.

Area 1 (seat currently held by Justine DeCesare – resident of Area 7)

Area 3 (seat currently held by Tom "TK" Keliinoi – resident of Area 3)

Area 4 (seat currently held by Donna Jackson – resident of Area 6)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Bonnie Alexander – resident of Area 7)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Rik Hauptfeld – resident of Area 7)

Area 8 (seat currently held by Matt Groza – resident of Area 7)

To be eligible for election as the Commercial Director, the candidate must be 18 years of age as of March 19, 2014, and operate or be employed by a business with a storefront in the 92124 zipcode.

If no eligible candidate is elected, the position can be converted to an at-large position at the April **2014 TCC meeting.** Commercial Director – currently unfilled

To be eligible for election in March 2014, candidates must have attended a Tierrasanta Community Council (TCC) meeting in the twelve months prior to January 31, 2014. A 150-word statement must be submitted to the TCC no later than 5 pm on Wednesday, February 26th to tierrasantacc.elect@gmail.com or hand delivered to the Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive – hand it to the staff at the desk and ask that it be placed in the Tierrasanta Library mail box. Candidates must state and sign that they either own property or reside in Tierrasanta and provide their home and/or property address, phone and email for TCC use only.

The statements and the ballot will be printed in the March 13, 2014 issue of the *Tierra Times* and posted on the TCC website at www.tierrasantacc.org beginning on Tuesday, March 11, 2014. The community will then have until 6 pm, March 19, 2014 to return their ballot to one of the locations in the community where ballot boxes will be located:

- Tierrasanta Library 4985 La Cuenta Drive
- The UPS Store 10615 Tierrasanta Blvd., Suites F&G
- or to the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd., by 8 pm Wednesday, March 19, 2014.

The ballots will be counted and the results announced during the TCC Annual Meeting that will convene at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, March 19, 2014 at the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Voters may print the ballot from the website, cut the ballot out of the March 13th issue of the *Tierra Times* or use one of the printed ballots that will be located next to the ballot boxes.

No write-ins are allowed.

Any positions for which no qualified candidate submits their name to run will be filled at the April 16th TCC meeting. The TCC has the option of declaring positions as At-Large and therefore any Tierrasanta resident or property owner would be eligible to be appointed, and not just a resident or property owner of that specific Area.

The first meeting for the successful candidates is the regular meeting of April 16, 2014, or any emergency or special meeting convened after March 19, 2014.