

Tierrasanta JOINT Community Council & Planning Group Meeting Agenda for Wednesday, July 15th, 2015 Meeting

6:30 pm • Tierrasanta Recreation Center • 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

Pledge of Allegiance • Roll Call/Introductions – Determination of Quorum 6:30 pm

Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

Fire Dept: Station 39 Battalion Captains Julie Bardsley, Carl Becker, Scott Lowe

http://www.sandiego.gov/fire/

Police Department: Adam McElroy, Community Service Officer

6:45PM **TIME CERTAIN:** Col. Farnam, MCAS Miramar, Commanding Officer, will update the Community on base operations prior to his change of command ceremony next month.

Congressmember Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Jason Bercovitch Jason.Bercovitch@mail.house.gov

State Senator Marty Block: 619-645-3133 Katelyn Hailey Katelyn.Hailey@sen.ca.gov

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: 858-689-6290 Rob Knudsen robert.knudsen@asm.ca.gov

Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878

County Supervisor Dave Roberts: 619-531-5533 Evan Bollinger Evan.Bollinger@sdcounty.ca.gov

Mayor Kevin Faulconer: 619-236-6630 Anthony George – georgea@sandiego.gov

Councilmember Scott Sherman: 619-236-6677 Sheldon Zemen SZemen@sandiego.gov

Director of Community and Government Relations, City Attorney's Office: 619-236-6220 Julio

DeGuzman - DeGuzmanJ@sandiego.gov

Board of Education: 619-838-5274 Kevin Beiser kbeiser@sandi.net MCAS Miramar: 858-577-6603 Juan Lias juan.lias@usmc.mil

Item A: Non-agenda Public Comment: Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment will be referred to the appropriate TCC Committee.

6:55 pm Item B: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

7:00 pm Item C: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the June 17th, 2015 joint TCC and Planning Group meeting.

President: Justin DeCesare • Vice President: Rich Thesing • Treasurer: Russ May

Secretary: Deanna Spehn • Directors: Area 1 – William Earl Turner;

Area 2 – Vacant Area 2 – Jennifer Schultz;

Area 3 – Dan Lazzaro; Area 3 – Scott Hasson Area 4 – Vacant; Area 4 – Mike George; Area 5 – John Adair; Area 6 - Loren Vinson; Area 7 - Bonnie Alexander, John Farmer

& Rik Hauptfeld; Area 8 - VACANT; Commercial Director - Tom "TK" Keliinoi

Mail: c/o Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive, San Diego CA 92124 www.tierrasantacc.org Justin DeCesare - President JustinDTierrasanta@Gmail.com 619-861-0745

- **7:05pm** Information Item 1: David Akin from the San Diego Public Utilities Department will provide an update on the city's drought response. This is an information item only.
- **7:15pm** Action Item 2: Traffic Calming Signs: Scott Hasson will provide an update on the traffic calming sign approved by the TCC to be located on the Eastbound portion of Tierrasanta Blvd east of La Cuenta Blvd. This is an information item only.
- **7:25 pm** Information Item 3: Vision and Planning Committee Update: On June 10th 2015, the committee met to discuss goals and direction of the Tierrasanta Community Council for the following 12 months. This is a continued discussion from the June 17th TCC meeting and items discussed at this meeting will be continued to a later date or if completed will be finalized at the September 2015 meeting. **This is an information item only.**
- 7:55 pm Information Item 4: Bylaws Updates. Continuation from June 17th meeting. The Bylaws committee, a committee of the whole, will review the past sets of bylaws for both the Community Council and Planning Group and begin to make line changes as appropriate. This is an information item only. Votes will be taken at a later meeting once draft changes have been made to all sets of bylaws.
- **8:25 pm** Action Item 5: President DeCesare will oversee the appointment process to fill the vacancies for the following Area Directors: Area 2 and Area 4. If eligible candidates are present to be appointed to the seats at tonight's meeting, they will be considered for appointment. Both positions were converted to At Large positions by a unanimous vote at the March 18, 2015 TCC meeting. Candidates must have attended a TCC meeting in the 12 months prior to the meeting and reside or own property within the 92124 zip code, and be present in person at the July 15th, 2015 meeting in order to be appointed. If no eligible appointees are present, the positions will remain vacant until the next TCC meeting when the process will be repeated. **Tonight's actions are to fill the positions.**
- **8:30 pm** New Business Item 6: TCC will consider items that may have been added to tonight's agenda, consistent with Council Policy 600-24 and the Brown Act, if there is a two-thirds vote by the TCC members to add the item(s).
- **8:35 pm Item 7 Adjournment:** A two-thirds vote by the TCC is required to extend the meeting for 30 minutes beyond 8:30 pm. A vote is required for each 30-minute extension of the meeting.

Upcoming 2015 TCC meetings at 6:30 pm in the Tierrasanta Recreation Center:

President: Justin DeCesare • Vice President: Rich Thesing • Treasurer: Russ May Secretary: Deanna Spehn • <u>Directors</u>: Area 1 – William Earl Turner;

Area 2 – Vacant Area 2 – Jennifer Schultz;

Area 3 – Dan Lazzaro; Area 3 – Scott Hasson Area 4 – Vacant; Area 4 – Mike George; Area 5 – John Adair; Area 6 - Loren Vinson; Area 7 - Bonnie Alexander, John Farmer & Rik Hauptfeld; Area 8 – VACANT; Commercial Director – Tom "TK" Keliinoi

Mail: c/o Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive, San Diego CA 92124 <u>www.tierrasantacc.org</u>

Justin DeCesare – President <u>JustinDTierrasanta@Gmail.com</u> 619-861-0745

September 16th October 21st November 18th

Please note: The City of San Diego requires that in order for a member of a planning group to be indemnified for actions taken related to their role as an advisory committee member to the city on land use matters, planning group members are required to attend at least one Community Orientation Workshop (COW). All council officers, directors, and committee members understand that they are required to take this training and adhere to what is promulgated therein.

President: Justin DeCesare • Vice President: Rich Thesing • Treasurer: Russ May Secretary: Deanna Spehn • <u>Directors</u>: Area 1 – William Earl Turner; Area 2 – Vacant Area 2 – Jennifer Schultz: