## **Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group**

Mailing address: Tierrasanta Community Council c/o Tierrasanta Library
4985 La Cuenta Drive, San Diego, CA 92124 • <a href="www.tierrasantacc.org">www.tierrasantacc.org</a>
Meetings: 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of the month except August and December at 6:30 pm at the
Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

## March 2016 Election

An election of Officers and Area Directors will take place on March 16, 2016. The following positions are standing for election for two-year terms: **Officers** – open to any Tierrasanta resident or property owner at least 18 years of age as of March 16, 2016; two year term ending March 2018 for President and Secretary **Area Directors** – must reside or own property in the Area standing for election and be at least 18 years of age as of March 16, 2016; two year term ending March 2018. If any of the positions are not filled via the election process, then the seat can be converted to an at-large position and open to any Tierrasanta resident or property owner. Terms are for two years ending in March 2018.

Area 1 (seat currently held by William Earl Turner)

Area 3 (seat currently held by Scott Hasson)

Area 4 (seat currently held by Mike George)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Bonnie Alexander)

Area 7 (seat currently held by Rik Hauptfeld)

Area 8 (seat is currently vacant)

**Commercial Director** (seat currently held by Tom Keliinoi): Candidate must be 18 years of age as of March 16, 2016 and operate or be employed by a business with a storefront in the 92124 zipcode.

Tierrasanta resident Hani Shatila was appointed in 2015 to oversee the March 2016 TCC election process. The March 2016 election will be noticed in the December 10, 2015 and January 21, 2016 *Tierra Times*. To be eligible for election in March 2016, candidates must have attended a Tierrasanta Community Council meeting in the twelve months prior to January 31, 2016.

A 150-word statement must be submitted to the TCC no later than 5 pm on Wednesday, February 3rd to TCC Treasurer Russ May at <a href="mailto:tsarea3@gmail.com">tsarea3@gmail.com</a> or to the Tierrasanta Community Council in care of the Tierrasanta Library, 4985 La Cuenta Drive – hand it to the staff at the desk and ask that it be placed in the Tierrasanta Community Council mailbox. Candidates must state and sign that they either own property or reside in Tierrasanta and must provide contact information (home and/or property address, phone and email) for TCC use.

The statement and the ballot will be printed in the February 18, 2016 issue of the Tierra Times and posted on the TCC website at <a href="www.tierrasantacc.org">www.tierrasantacc.org</a> beginning on Thursday, February 18, 2016. The community will then have until 6 pm March 16, to return their ballot to one of the locations in the community where ballot boxes will be located:

Tierrasanta Library – 4985 La Cuenta Drive

The UPS Store – 10615-G Tierrasanta Blvd.

Or to the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. by 8 pm March 16<sup>th</sup>, 2016. The ballots will be counted and the results announced during the Annual Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council that will convene at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, March 16, 2016 at the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Voters may print the ballot from the website, cut the ballot out of the February 18th issue of the *Tierra Times* or use one of the printed ballots that will be located next to the ballot boxes in the community. No write-ins are allowed. The first meeting for the successful candidates will be the regular meeting of Wednesday, April 20, 2016, or any emergency or special meeting convened after March 16, 2016.