Joint Meeting of the **Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group**

Agenda for Wednesday, May 17, 2017

6:30 pm • Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): http://www.sandiego.gov/fire
- Fire Department re upcoming Fire Season
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Tom Bostedt 858-495-7919 tbostedt@pd.sandiego.gov
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Jennifer Sosa
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Ryan Trabuco Ryan.Trabuco@sen.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: Rob Knudsen Robert. Knudsen@asm.ca.gov 858-689-6290
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5533
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Anthony George 619-236-6630 georgea@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 SZemen@sandiego.gov
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- Office of City Attorney: Director of Community & Government Relations Julio DeGuzman 619-236-6220 <u>DeGuzmanJ@sandiego.gov</u>
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Naomi Siodmok 619-236-6017 MSiodmok@sandiego.gov only for issues regarding bylaws; Lesley Henegar re planning issues
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 4985 La Cuenta Dr.; 858-573-1384

Reports from Committee Liaisons – no action will be taken unless there is a separate Action Item listed on the agenda

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson
- Community Planners Committee: Deanna Spehn / Rich Thesing
- Concerts in the Park Committee: John Farmer / Rik Hauptfeld
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle
- Tierrasanta LogoWear Committee: Deanna Spehn
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 dspehn1@san.rr.com
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Danielle Declich at the June 21st Tierrasanta Community Council meeting the Committee will share its "Wish List" of projects for the Tierrasanta community
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Bill Reschke no report
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing

Item A: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an urgent issue. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

Item B: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the April 19, 2017 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council in its role as the officially recognized planning group for the Tierrasanta community, and the Tierrasanta Community Council in its corporate role (draft minutes are posted at www.tierrasantacc.org) Tonight's action is to take action on approving the Draft Minutes.

Action Item 2: **Appointment of Area 8 Director.** The Area 8 Director position was declared vacant at the March 15, 2017 meeting with an appointment to be made at the April 2017 meeting. No eligible resident of Area 8 volunteered at the April meeting, and the position has been converted to an at-large position to be filled by appointment. **Tonight's action is to fill the position.**

Action Item 3: The Mission Trails Regional Park Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) has requested that the Tierrasanta Community Council appoint its representative and alternate to the CAC. Betty Ogilvie has served as the TCC's liaison and Rich Thesing has served as the Alternate for several years. Both Betty and Rich have requested that they be reappointed. The CAC is advisory to the Mission Trails Task Force, which includes elected officials representing the City of San Diego and the County of San Diego. The Task Force is advisory to the City of San Diego Mayor and Council. Tonight's action is to make an appointment and select an alternate for the 2-year position.

Action Item 3: Discuss whether the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group's prior votes on whether to reject efforts by the City of San Diego to increase the speed limit on specific streets in Tierrasanta should be revisited with the potential that with the speed limit increased there is the potential for issuing tickets by the Police Department for those streets? Tonight's action would only be to decide whether to revisit the prior decisions; a future meeting will be identified for discussions and votes on specific streets and speed limits. Streets that would be considered include, but are not limited to, Clairemont Mesa Blvd., Rueda Drive, Santo Road, Tierrasanta Blvd. and Via Vallarta.

Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:

President: Deanna Spehn
Vice President: Rich Thesing
Secretary: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
Area 3 Director: Russ May
Area 3 Director: Scott Hasson
Area 4 Director: Emily Whittmore
Area 7 Director: Danielle Declich
Area 7 Director: Kevin Oskow

Treasurer: Steve Muckle
Area 2 Director: Jim Mackris
Area 4 Director: John Batchelder
Area 6 Director: Loren Vinson
Area 7 Director: Kevin Oskow
Area 7 Director: Jen Schultz

Area 8 Director: Vacant Commercial Director: Mike Ogilvie

8:30 pm Adjournment. To continue the meeting beyond 8:30 pm, a majority of the TCC must vote to extend the meeting.

The next meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group is 6:30 pm Wednesday, June 21, 2017

A representative from Kaiser Hospital & Medical Center on Clairemont Mesa Blvd. will be at the June meeting!

The TCC Vision & Goals Committee will discuss its Wish List of unfunded capital projects for the Tierrasanta community & the TCC will review the last "Wish List" adopted by the planning group & the list of Unfunded Capital Projects in the City of San Diego Budget Proposed for July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018

Notice:

Sign up to stay informed about the update to the Master Plan for Montgomery Field that is currently underway by the City of San Diego at http://www.sdairportplans.com/

This information will be made available in alternative formats upon request, as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), by contacting the President of the Tierrasanta Community Council at 858-565-4018 or dspehn1@san.rr.com Requests for disability-related modifications or accommodations required to facilitate meeting participation, including requests for auxiliary aids, services or interpreters, require different lead times, ranging from five business days to two weeks or longer. Please keep this in mind and provide as much advance notice as possible in order to ensure availability.