Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. • www.tierrasantacc.org

7:30 PM Time Certain: The Annual Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group will be convened

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group generally in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the officially recognized planning group by the City of San Diego, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the February 21, 2018 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group.

Attachment: 1) Draft Minutes for the February 21, 2018 TCC&PG Meeting

6:45 pm Time Certain

Wayne Reiter, Airport Program Manager for the City of San Diego's two airports Montgomery-Gibbs Executive Airport and Brown Field – will offer an update on the Master Plan Update currently underway for the Montgomery-Gibbs Executive Airport. Several alternatives are under consideration. Updated documents are at http://www.sdairportplans.com/documents/

7:15 pm Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): http://www.sandiego.gov/fire
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Tom Bostedt 858-495-7919 tbostedt@pd.sandiego.gov
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Ryan Trabuco Ryan.Trabuco@sen.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: Rob Knudsen <u>Robert.Knudsen@asm.ca.gov</u> 858-675-0077
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5533
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Anthony George 619-236-6630 georgea@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 SZemen@sandiego.gov
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net

- City Attorney's office: Angela Law 619-236-6220
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 4985 La Cuenta; 858-573-1384

7:30 pm Time Certain

Please note: at 7:30 pm the Annual Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group will be convened. Voting for candidates may continue in the Tierrasanta Recreation Center until 8 pm sharp, at which time Dr. Hani Shatila as Chair of the Election Committee will close off the voting and begin the counting of the ballots, accompanied by other volunteers. The results off the election will be read as soon as he counting has concluded. No write-in votes are allowed.

Appointments will be made to fill any vacancies at the April 2018 meeting if any candidates meet the requirement of having attended two TCC&PG meetings in the prior 12 months.

The San Diego City Council recently approved a new set of bylaws for the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group – the officially recognized planning group for the 92124 community of Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon and The Village Mission Valley apartments off Friars Road.

The March 2018 meeting is the final meeting under the current structure of the Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group – at the April meeting the members of the planning group will select the officers: the new President and Secretary will serve 2-year terms and Vice President Rich Thesing and Treasurer Steve Muckle will serve 1-year terms under the new structure. Beginning with the April meeting the number of members will also be reduced to 15 from the current 17, with one of the 15 representing The Village Mission Valley off Friars Road. The number of areas will be reduced, going from 8 Areas to 4 within the immediate Tierrasanta community. Two members will be designated as Area Directors for each of the 4 new Areas and the other 6 members will be elected/appointed as At Large members. Current members who were elected to 2-year terms under the old bylaws who are still eligible to serve due to the requirement that at 8 consecutive years of service on the planning group an individual must take a minimum one-year off. Several current members have reached that 8-year limit.

The San Diego City Council recently approved a new set of bylaws for the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group – the officially recognized planning group for the 92124 community of Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon and The Village Mission Valley apartments off Friars Road.

Reports from Committee Liaisons - Information only

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson
- Community Planners Committee: Deanna Spehn / Rich Thesing no report
- Concerts in the Park Committee: Dawn Lostritto and Jan Whitacre will serve as liaisons to the committee
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 dspehn1@san.rr.com
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Kevin Oskow
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Bill Reschke no report

• Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing

Item B:

Item A: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a

community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an urgent issue. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

Adjournment: the next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, April 18, 2018

President: Deanna Spehn 858-565-4018 dspehn1@san.rr.com

Vice President: Rich ThesingTreasurer: Steve MuckleSecretary: Dawn Nielsen-LostrittoArea 1 Director: Mike George

Area 2 Director: Jim Mackris Area 3 Directors: Russ May and Scott Hasson

Area 4 Director: Emily Whittmore and Jan Michael Whitacre

Area 5 Director: John Adair **Area 6 Director**: Loren Vinson **Area 7 Director**: Kevin Oskow, Jennifer Schultz & Elwira (Elvie) Plaskota

Area 8 Director: John Denune Commercial Director: Mike Ogilvie