

# Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 6:30 pm Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group generally meets in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

**6:30 pm** Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the officially recognized planning group by the City of San Diego, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

## Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the July 18, 2018 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group.

Attachment 1: Draft Minutes for the July 18, 2018 TCC&PG Meeting

## Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): <u>http://www.sandiego.gov/fire</u>
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Tom Bostedt 858-495-7919
  <u>tbostedt@pd.sandiego.gov</u>
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez <u>Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov</u>
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Ryan Trabuco Ryan. Trabuco@sen.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: Rob Knudsen <u>Robert.Knudsen@asm.ca.gov</u> 858-675-0077
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5533
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Anthony George 619-236-6630 georgea@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 <u>SZemen@sandiego.gov</u>
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's office: Angela Law 619-236-6220
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 4985 La Cuenta; 858-573-1384

Mailing Address:

Item C: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an emergency. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

#### Item D: Notes from the Chair

**Information Item 1:** Discussion of November awards and recognition event to celebrate the contributions of departing directors and deserving community members or organizations.

Action Item 2: Accept nominations (if any) for commercial and residential director positions.

Action Item 3: Discuss concerns about the late notice to the Tierrasanta community about the year-long closure of the Tierrasanta Library. The library closed on August 13th for a series of expansions and improvements required by the Americans with Disabilities Act. Vote on what feedback to provide to the city regarding the length of the closure and clarity on alternate cooling centers available to residents during hot weather.

Action Item 4: 7:00 PM Time Certain: Representatives from Soccer City and from SDSU West will each have 20 minutes to present their visions for redevelopment of the former Qualcomm Stadium property. Presentations will be followed by a 20 minute Q&A session. The Council will consider and vote on whether to make an official endorsement on either of these proposals.

Action Item 5: Re-visit TCC committee assignments and make changes as needed.

### Information Item 2: Reports from Committee Liaisons

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson
- Community Planners Committee: Jan Whitacre, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore
- Concerts in the Park Committee Liaisons: Dawn Lostritto and Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 dspehn1@san.rr.com
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Kevin Oskow
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Bill Reschke no report
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing

**Information Item 3:** Discuss speeding issues on various neighborhood streets and possible approaches.

8:30 pm Adjournment: the next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, October 17, 2018

**NOTICE: Meeting of October 17, 2018:** Accept nominations (if still needed) for the residential director and commercial director positions.

**NOTICE: Meeting of October 17, 2018:** Accept nominations for non-voting representatives from Serra High School and Murphy Canyon Heights Military Housing Area.

**NOTICE: Meeting of October 17, 2018**: Vote on a request from the Legacy Church (formerly Vista Grande) on Tierrasanta Blvd to transfer 5000 sqft of Office and classroom space from a future sanctuary building to a newly proposed two-story classroom building.

Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members: President: Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com Vice President: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto Treasurer: Steve Muckle Secretary: John Denune Area 1 Directors: Loren Vinson and John Adair Area 2 Directors: Mike George and Elvie Plaskota Area 3 Directors: Kevin Oskow and Emily Whittemore Area 4 Directors: Russ May and Jim Mackris Area 5 Director: Vacant Commercial Director: Vacant