

# Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 6:30 pm Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group generally meets in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible to serve on the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

**6:30 pm** Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the officially recognized planning group by the City of San Diego, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

### Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

**Action Item 1:** Approval of the Draft Minutes for the November 28, 2018 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group.

Attachment 1: Draft Minutes for the November 28, 2018 TCC&PG Meeting

## Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): <a href="http://www.sandiego.gov/fire">http://www.sandiego.gov/fire</a>
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Relations Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919, <a href="mailto:dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov">dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov</a>
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez Juan. Hernandez@mail.house.gov
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Ryan Trabuco Ryan.Trabuco@sen.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: Rob Knudsen <u>Robert.Knudsen@asm.ca.gov</u> 858-675-0077
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5533
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Darnisha Hunter, DHunter@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 <u>SZemen@sandiego.gov</u>
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's office: Angela Law 619-236-6220
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil

- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 4985 La Cuenta; 858-573-1384
- **Item C:** Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be urgent. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

#### Item D: Notes from the Chair

**Information Item 1: 7:00 PM Time Certain:** Presentation by the County Water Authority regarding planned improvements to their infrastructure in MTRP and related trail closures

**Action Item 2:** Request by the Open Space Committee to favorably endorse its proposed budget for the coming fiscal year

**Action Item 3:** Discussion and vote to approve the TCC 2019 budget

**Attachment 2:** 2019 draft budget.pdf

**Action Item 4:** Discussion of proposed changes to City Council Policy 600-24 and adoption of appropriate changes to TCC procedures and practices.

Attachment 3: community planning groups highlights.pdf

Attachment 4: 19-013 community planning groups.pdf

**Information Item 2:** Discussion of the status of proposed changes to the TCC planning group by-laws and impacts on the 2019 annual election

**Action Item 5:** Discussion and determination regarding expected vacancies to be filled in the March elections

# **Information Item 3: Reports from Committee Liaisons**

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson and Don Chick
- Community Planners Committee: Jan Whitacre, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore
- Concerts in the Park Committee Liaisons: Dawn Lostritto and Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 dspehn1@san.rr.com
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Chair: Wayne Holtan

#### Mailing Address:

- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
- San Diego River Coalition: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto

**Adjournment (Approximately 8:30 PM):** The next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, February 20, 2019

# **Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:**

- **President:** Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com
- Vice President: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Treasurer: Steve MuckleSecretary: John Denune
- Area 1 Directors: Don Chick and John Adair
- **Area 2 Directors:** Mike George and Elvie Plaskota
- Area 3 Directors: Kevin Oskow and Emily Whittemore
- Area 4 Directors: Russ May and Mary Saxton
- Area 5 Director: Vacant
- Commercial Director: Mike Ogilvie
- Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)
- **Serra High School:** Paul Gilmore (non-voting)