

Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 6:30 pm Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group generally meets in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible to serve on the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the officially recognized planning group by the City of San Diego, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the January 16, 2019 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group. Attachment 1: Draft Minutes for the January 16, 2019 TCC&PG Meeting

Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): <u>http://www.sandiego.gov/fire</u>
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Relations Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919, <u>dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov</u>
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez <u>Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov</u>
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Ryan Trabuco Ryan. Trabuco@sen.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: Rob Knudsen <u>Robert.Knudsen@asm.ca.gov</u> 858-675-0077
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5533
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Darnisha Hunter, <u>DHunter@sandiego.gov</u>
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 <u>SZemen@sandiego.gov</u>
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's office: Angela Law 619-236-6220
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil

Mailing Address:

- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 4985 La Cuenta; 858-573-1384
- Item C: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be urgent. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

Item D: Notes from the Chair

- Concern about car prowls from resident of El Dorado Hills
- Girl Scout Troop offering butterfly garden to library
- Traffic sign down at Portobelo Ct and Portobelo Dr
- Dog bite at Rec Cntr
- Information Item 1 : (7PM time certain): Introduction of Colonel Dockery and update on MCAS Miramar projects
- **Information Item 2:** SDSU EIR SDSU has released a notice of intent to prepare a draft environmental impact report and initial study of its Mission Valley Campus Master Plan Project.
- Information Item 3: Status of bylaws revision
- Information Item 4: Election Information- List of candidates, polling places, ballot procedures, poll closing times
- **Information Item 5:** Concert in the Park Announce concert dates and request volunteers to assist with set up, tear down, and traffic control.
- Information Item 6: Notice of Preparation of a Draft PEIR for Montgomery Gibbs Executive Airport Master Plan. The comment period is open between February 7, 2019 and March 9, 2019. The public is encouraged to provide feedback, either in person or in writing. Full details of the scheduled airport scoping meetings as well as contact information for providing written feedback is available at: <u>http://www.sdairportplans.com/environmental-impact-report/</u> All comments must be submitted no later than March 9, 2019.
- Information Item 7: Project Review Training by the City Planning Department on how to review a development project (including CIP projects), Time: 6pm 8pm, Thursday, February 28. Where: <u>9485 Aero Drive</u> (it's on the south side and along with the Planning Department, hosts the Field Engineering Division). They are requesting an RSVP:

RSVP at SDPlanningGroups@sandiego.gov or via phone (619) 533-3670 by February 21, 2019.

Action Item 2: Executive Committee to present proposed slate of committees with intended purposes/goals

Action Item 3: Awards Event - Set target date and time for 2019 TCC awards and recognition event

Information Item 8: Reports from Committee Liaisons

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson and Don Chick
- Community Planners Committee: Jan Whitacre, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore
- Concerts in the Park Committee Liaisons: Dawn Lostritto and Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 <u>dspehn1@san.rr.com</u>
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Chair: Wayne Holtan
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
- San Diego River Coalition: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto

Adjournment (Approximately 8:30 PM): The next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:

- **President:** Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com
- Vice President: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- **Treasurer:** Steve Muckle
- Secretary: John Denune
- Area 1 Directors: Don Chick and John Adair
- Area 2 Directors: Mike George and Elvie Plaskota
- Area 3 Directors: Kevin Oskow and Emily Whittemore
- Area 4 Directors: Russ May and Mary Saxton
- Area 5 Director: Vacant
- **Commercial Director:** Mike Ogilvie
- Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)
- Serra High School: Paul Gilmore (non-voting)