

# Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Minutes for Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 6:30 pm Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group generally meets in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible to serve on the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

President: Jan Whitacre (1)	P
Vice President: - Dawn Nielsen (2)	P
Directors	
Area 1 Don Chick (1)	P
Area 2 Mike George (2)	A
Area 3 Kevin Oskow (3)	A
Area 4 Russ May (4)	P
Residential Director: Vacant	
Commercial Director Mike Ogilvie	
( ) indicates area of residence	

Treasurer: Steve Muckle (4)	A
Secretary: John Denune (4)	P
Area 1 John Adair (1)	P
Area 2 Elvie Plaskota (2)	A
Area 3 Emily Whittemore (3)	P
Area 4 Mary Saxton (4)	P
The Village at Mission Valley (Vacant)	
Non-Voting positions:	
Serra High School: Paul Gilmore	
Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger	

**6:30 pm** Rich Thesing led Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum *with 8 in attendance.* 

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, the officially recognized planning group by the City of San Diego, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

# Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance / Additions to the Agenda No additions or changes requested.

**Action Item 1:** Approval of the Draft Minutes for the February 20, 2019 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group.

Attachment 1: Draft Minutes for the February 20, 2019 TCC&PG Meeting

Director Adair made a motion to approve the minutes with the correction that he will not be resigning. Director Saxton seconded the motion. No Discussion. Vote: Yes: 7 No: 0 Abstain:1 Director May was absent last meeting.

### Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

• Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Relations Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919, dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov

Officer Gibson gave an update on crime statistics comparing the last two months in Tierrasanta. SDPD will be attending Patriot's Day Parade in Tierrasanta on My 18th.

- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 <u>SZemen@sandiego.gov</u>

  Mr. Zemen gave an update on the Tierrasanta Library construction. V.P Nielsen asked about the calming device on Rueda. Zemen said it was in progress and thought it was installed, if not now, then by next month. Director Adair asked about potholes. The quality of repaving was mentioned along with the problem with subsequent rains washing out the repair work.
- **Item C:** Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be urgent. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.
  - Audience member asked Mr. Zemen about the washout on Clairemont Mesa Blvd behind Vons shopping center wondering if will ever be finished. Zemen said he thought it was in the design phase.
  - Director Ingham asked about scheduled power outages.

#### **Item D:** Notes from the Chair

None at this time.

**Action Item 4:** Summary of a proposed ordinance to create dedicated children's play areas at San Diego playgrounds. Playgrounds and other children's areas will be legally designated as such. Adults *not* accompanied by children will not be allowed to remain in these areas. Possible vote on whether TCC should support the proposed ordinance.

**Attachment 2:** Designated Children's Play Area Information Packet.pdf *After discussing this item, it was determined that the majority of TCC members did not support this proposed ordinance.* 

**Action Item 5:** Awards Committee recommendation and vote to approve recommendations **Attachment 3:** Awards Committee Recommendations.pdf

President Whitacre made a motion that TCC members serving a full 2-year term or more receives a certificate. Members who serve entire eligibility time (7-8 years), receive a plaque. These awards will be distributed at a regularly scheduled monthly meeting. Director Muckle seconded the motion. Discussion. Vote: Yes: 8 No: 0 Abstain: 0. The motion is passed.

**Action Item 2 : (7:30 PM time certain):** Suspend meeting of the community planning group and convene annual meeting of the TCC as a corporation. Ballot verification can begin for all polls except for the Recreation Center.

At 7:30 a 10 minute recess was called to begin the election count.

**Information Item 1:** 2018 Audit report **Attachment 4:** TCC Audit Letter 2018.pdf

Attachment 5: 2018 TCC Income Expenses Summary.pdf

**Attachment 6:** Invoice for 2018 Audit.pdf

Treasure Muckle said the audit was satisfactory and the fee for the audit was \$150.00

#### **Information Item 2:** Funding update for June Concert in the Park

Still working with the other local groups (Tierrasanta Kiwanis, Tierrasanta Foundation and Tierrasanta Junior Women's Club) for June Concert in the Park.

#### **Information Item 3: Reports from Committee Liaisons**

• Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson and Don Chick

**Action Item 3: (8:00 PM time certain)** Polls are closed, voting is ended. Election Committee proceeds to count the votes. When the vote count is completed: the joint meeting of the planning group as a corporation is convened and the Election Committee announces the results of the vote.

At 8 p.m. the TRC poll closed, voting ended. Election Committee proceeded to count the votes. Break until election results were announced.

8:12 *The meeting was reconvened and The following were declared winners.* 

Mike Ogilvie Director for Area 1 Dawn Nielsen Director for Area 2 Don Chick Director for Area 3 Steve Muckle Director for Area 4

#### **Information Item 3: Reports from Committee Liaisons Continued**

• Community Planners Committee: Jan Whitacre, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore *Shopping center development in Mission Valley*.

V.P Nielsen noted this was the last meeting for Director May as he terms-out. The TCC thanks May for his years of volunteering, his work on the website and concerts in the park. We hope he takes a year off and returns.

#### The meeting adjourned at 8:17.

The next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, April 17, 2019

## **Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:**

- **President:** Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com
- Vice President: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Treasurer: Steve Muckle
- Secretary: John Denune
- Area 1 Directors: Don Chick and John Adair
- Area 2 Directors: Mike George and Elvie Plaskota
- Area 3 Directors: Kevin Oskow and Emily Whittemore
- Area 4 Directors: Russ May and Mary Saxton
- Area 5 Director: Vacant

• Commercial Director: Mike Ogilvie

• Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)

• Serra High School: Paul Gilmore (non-voting)