# Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council And Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 6:30
Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.
<a href="https://www.tierrasantacc.org">www.tierrasantacc.org</a>

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group meets generally in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible for election to the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January of the prior year and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

**6:30 pm** Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, a City of San Diego recognized planning group, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

### Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance /Additions to Agenda

**Action Item 1:** Approval of the Draft Minutes for the March 20 and April 17, 2019 Joint Meetings of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group. **Attachments:** (1) and (2)

# Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): <a href="http://www.sandiego.gov/fire">http://www.sandiego.gov/fire</a>
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919 <a href="mailto:dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov">dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov</a>
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez <u>Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov</u>
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Diana Lara <u>Diana.Lara@sen.ca.gov</u>
- Assemblymember Brian Maienschein: 858-675-0077 Rob Knudsen Robert.Knudsen@asm.ca.gov
- Assemblymember Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5855 Melanie Woods Melanie. Woods@sdcounty.ca.gov
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Darnisha Hunter, DHunter@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 SZemen@sandiego.gov

- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's Office: Ann Marie Council 619-533-6205. <u>ACouncil@sandiego.gov</u>
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 <u>kristin.camper@usmc.mil</u>
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar. (619) 235-5208 <u>LHenegar@sandiego.gov</u>
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 858-573-1384 <u>JCunningham@sandiego.gov</u> 4985 La Cuenta

# Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an urgent issue. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

### Item D: Notes from the Chair

**Action Item 2:** (7:00 PM Time Certain) To favorably or unfavorably endorse a request from the Legacy Church to reduce the size of its recently proposed multi-purpose/classroom addition. (Wayne Holtan or Ron Harper).

**Action Item 3:** To favorably or unfavorably endorse the SD Transportation Operations Division determination to increase the speed limit on Clairemont Mesa Blvd westbound from 45 to 50 MPH between Santo Road and HiWay 15. **Attachment (3).** 

Action Item 4: To identify and prioritize Capital Investment Projects. Attachment (4)

**Action Item 5:** To determine standing and ad hoc committees and assign membership. Some liaison positions may be adjusted. **Attachment (5)** 

**Information Item 1:** Serra High School Design Task Force (Wayne Holtan) **Attachment (6)** 

**Information Item 2:** 12<sup>th</sup> Update to the San Diego Land Development Code (Wireless Communications) (Wayne Holtan)

**Information Item 3:** Elevate SD MTS Community Advisory Committee (Don Chick)

**Information Item 4:** Reports from Committee and Community Liaisons

- Montgomery Field Airport Master Plan: Scott Hasson and Don Chick
- Community Planners Committee: Emily Whittemore, Mike Ogilvie, Jan Whitacre
- Concerts in the Park Committee: Steve Muckle, Dawn Lostritto, John Farmer, Rik Hauptfeld, and Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle, Deanna Spehn, Jan Whitacre

- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair 858-565-4018 <a href="mailto:dspehn1@san.rr.com">dspehn1@san.rr.com</a>
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang, Steve Muckle, John Denune
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Wayne Holtan, John Adair, Rich Thesing, Bill Reschke
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
- San Diego River Coalition: Rich Thesing and Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Rock Quarry Conditional Use Permit: Rich Thesing and Kathleen Mueller

# Adjournment (Approximately 8:30 p.m.):

The next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, July 17, 2017

Attachment (1): Draft minutes for the March 20, 2019 Meeting Attachment (2): Draft minutes for the April 17, 2019 Meeting Attachment (3): San Diego Ltr SN 40300056181 of April 15, 2019

**Attachment (4):** Draft community survey instrument **Attachment (5):** TCC Committee list as of June 2017

Attachment (6): San Diego Unified School District ltr of April 11, 2019

# **Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:**

**President**: Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com

Vice President: Mike Ogilvie Treasurer: Steve Muckle Secretary: Emily Whittemore

Area 1 Director: (Mike Ogilvie), John Adair

Area 2 Director: Elvie Plaskota, Rich Thesing, and Dawn Nielsen

Area 3 Directors: (Jan Whitacre), (Emily Whittemore), Don Chick and Bob Lang

Area 4 Director: Mary Saxton, (Steve Muckle), and John Denune

Area 5 Director (Village at Mission Valley): Vacant

At Large: Kathleen Mueller

Commercial Director: Kevin Ingham (Starbucks)
Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)
Serra High School: Paul Gilmore (non-voting)