Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council And Planning Group

Agenda for Wednesday, October 16, 2019 6:30 PM at the Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group meets generally in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible for election to the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January of the prior year and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says, "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, a City of San Diego recognized planning group, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance /Additions to Agenda

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the September 18, 2019 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group. Attachment: (1)

Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Assembly member Brian Maienschein: 858-675-0077 Rik Hauptfeld <u>Rikard.Hauptfeld@asm.ca.gov</u>
- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): <u>http://www.sandiego.gov/fire</u>
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919 <u>dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov</u>
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Diana Lara <u>Diana.Lara@sen.ca.gov</u>
- Assembly member Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5855 Melanie Woods
- <u>Melanie.Woods@sd.co.gov</u>
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Darnisha Hunter, <u>DHunter@sandiego.gov</u>
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 <u>SZemen@sandiego.gov</u>
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 <u>erenfree@sandi.net</u>
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's Office: Ann Marie Council 619-533-6205. <u>ACouncil@sandiego.gov</u>

- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar. (619) 235-5208 LHenegar@sandiego.gov
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 858-573-1384 JCunningham@sandiego.gov 4985 La Cuenta
- Item C: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an urgent issue. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

Item D: Presentation of Certificate of Recognition to Paul Gilmore, student representative from Serra High School

Action Item 2: To favorably or unfavorably endorse a request for permit renewal of a Spectrum/Time Warner Cable Crown Monopalm wireless tower located at the Tierrasanta Baptist Church, 6030 Santo Road, 92124. Presenter – Debra DePratti Gardner of DePratti, Inc. (May require A/V assist.) Attachment (2)

Action Item 3: To favorably or unfavorably endorse the efforts of the citizens of Santee to halt or reduce in scope the proposed expansion of the Carleton Oaks Country Club due to unacceptable impacts. Attachment (3).

Action Item 4: To determine standing and ad hoc committees, assign membership, and approve charters. Some liaison positions may be adjusted. Attachment (4) and (5).

Information Item 1: Reports from Committee and Community Liaisons

- Community Planners Committee: Emily Whittemore, Mike Ogilvie, Jan Whitacre
- Concerts in the Park Committee: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, John Farmer, and Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Budget Committee: Steve Muckle, Deanna Spehn, Jan Whitacre
- Tierrasanta Open Space Committee: Deanna Spehn, Chair
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang, Steve Muckle, John Denune, and Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Wayne Holtan, John Adair, Rich Thesing, Bill Reschke, John Hopper, Jan Whitacre
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
- San Diego River Coalition: Rich Thesing and Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Rock Quarry Conditional Use Permit: Rich Thesing and Kathleen Mueller

Info Item 2: March Election Information

- TCC will use the Tierra Times as the community newspaper for dissemination of election news.
- Polling places (tentative): Primo market, VONS, UPS, Ace hardware and the Library.
- Candidates may submit application packages by email to the TCC Secretary (emily4tierrasanta@gmail.com) or by regular mail addressed to the Tierrasanta Community Council at 6030 Santo Road #435, San Diego, CA 92124.
- Application packages must include the following:
 - A statement demonstrating the candidate's eligibility to run.
 - A personal statement of 150 words or less setting out the candidate's reasons for wanting to serve and their qualifications.
 - Contact information (email, phone, street and mailing address).

Adjournment (Approximately 8:30 p.m.):

The next regular meeting will be at 6:30 pm Wednesday January 15, 2020

Attachment (1): Draft minutes for the July 17, 2019 Meeting

Attachment (2): Crown-Castle cell permit renewal

Attachment (3): Carleton Oaks Country Club proposed expansion

Attachment (4): List of proposed committees and committee membership

Attachment (5): Proposed committee charters (incomplete)

Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:

President: Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com
Vice President: Mike Ogilvie
Treasurer: Steve Muckle
Secretary: Emily Whittemore
Area 1 Director: (Mike Ogilvie), John Adair
Area 2 Director: Elvie Plaskota, Rich Thesing, and Dawn Nielsen
Area 3 Directors: (Jan Whitacre), (Emily Whittemore), Don Chick and Bob Lang

Area 4 Director: Mary Saxton, (Steve Muckle), and John Denune

Area 5 Director (Village at Mission Valley): Vincent Del Pidio

At Large: Kathleen Mueller

Commercial Director: vacant

Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)

Serra High School: (non-voting)

Tierrasanta Community Council 6030 Santo Road #435 San Diego, CA 92124