Joint Meeting of the



${\bf Tierrasanta~Community~Council~and~Planning~Group} \\ {\bf Agenda}$

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 • 6:30 pm
Tierrasanta Recreation Center, 11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. San Diego 92124

www.tierrasantacc.org

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group meets generally in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible for election to the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of two meetings prior to the last day of January of the prior year and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Please note: Unless an agenda item says "Time Certain," items may be taken up earlier or later than the listed time on the agenda.

6:30 pm Pledge of Allegiance; Roll Call/Introductions; Determination of Quorum

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, a City of San Diego recognized planning group, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

Item A: Agenda Review / Requests for Continuance /Additions to Agenda

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the October 16, 2019 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group. **Attachment:** (1)

Action Item 2: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the November 20, 2019 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group. **Attachment:** (2)

Item B: Updates by Government Representatives: limited to 2 minutes each

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): http://www.sandiego.gov/fire
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919 dkgibson@pd.sandiego.gov
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Juan Hernandez Juan.Hernandez@mail.house.gov
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Diana Lara <u>Diana.Lara@sen.ca.gov</u>
- Assembly Member Brian Maienschein: 858-675-0077 Rik Hauptfeld Rikard.Hauptfeld@asm.ca.gov
- Assembly Member Shirley Weber: 619-462-7878
- County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar: 619-531-5855 Melanie Woods Melanie.Woods@sdcounty.ca.gov
- Mayor Kevin Faulconer: Darnisha Hunter, DHunter@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Scott Sherman: Sheldon Zemen 619-236-6677 SZemen@sandiego.gov
- Serra High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net

- City Attorney's Office: Ann Marie Council 619-533-6205. ACouncil@sandiego.gov
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar. (619) 235-5208 <u>LHenegar@sandiego.gov</u>
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 858-573-1384
 JCunningham@sandiego.gov 4985 La Cuenta

Item C: Award certificate to out-going Serra HS representative Paul Gilmore

Item D: Non-Agenda Public Comment. Any member of the public may address a community issue not elsewhere on this agenda. Each speaker may take up to 2 minutes; speakers may be limited to less time if several speakers have filed speaker slips to speak on the same issue. The TCC is prohibited by The Brown Act from acting on or voting on any issue that is not already on the agenda unless it is deemed by the Council to be an urgent issue. Issues raised during Non-Agenda Public Comment may be referred to an appropriate Tierrasanta Community Council committee.

Item E: Notes from the Chair

Action Item 3: Accept nomination of new Serra HS representative Sofia Gilmore.

Action Item 4: To favorably or unfavorably endorse a determination made by the City to install a stop sign on Uvalde Court at La Cuenta Drive across from Tierrasanta Elementary School.

Action Item 5: To favorably or unfavorably endorse the proposed Tierrasanta Open Space Budget for the 2020-2021 FY. **Attachment (3)**

Info Item 1: Status Update SDCWA Flow Regulatory Structure II Project – Craig Balben (Public Affairs)

Info Item 2: Jewish Family Services – Chrissy Califf

Action Item 6: Announce expected vacancies and deadline for candidate self-nominations (February 19, 2020) - Election Committee

Action Item 7: Review/Approve Communications Committee Charter. Attachment (4)

Info Item 3: Reports from Committee and Community Liaisons

- Community Planners Committee: Emily Whittemore, Mike Ogilvie, Jan Whitacre
- Concerts in the Park Committee: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto (co-chair), John Farmer, Jan Whitacre (co-chair), and Cathy Newcomb
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Vision & Goals Committee of the Tierrasanta Community Council: Vincent Del Pidio, Emily Whittemore, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, John Adair, Bob Lang
- Tierrasanta Community Communications Committee: Bob Lang, Steve Muckle, John Denune, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, John Adair
- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Wayne Holtan, John Adair, Rich Thesing,

Bill Reschke, Jan Whitacre, John Hopper, Mary Saxton, Mike Ogilvie

- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
- San Diego River Coalition: Rich Thesing and Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Rock Quarry Conditional Use Permit: Rich Thesing and Kathleen Mueller
- Annual Recognition: Jan Whitacre (Chair), Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Emily Whittemore
- Elections: Hani Shatila (co-chair), Jan Whitacre (co-chair), Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, and Mike Ogilvie

Info Item 4: March Election Information

- TCC will use the Tierra Times as the community newspaper for dissemination of election news.
- Polling places (tentative): Primo Market, VONS, UPS, Ace Hardware, and the Tierrasanta Library.
- Vacancies are anticipated in all geographic areas of the community.
- Candidates may submit application packages by email to the TCC Secretary (emily4tierrasanta@gmail.com) or by regular mail addressed to the Tierrasanta Community Council at 6030 Santo Road #435, San Diego, CA 92124.
- Applications must be received not later than 19 February.
- Application packages must include the following:
 - A statement demonstrating the candidate's eligibility to run
 - A personal statement of 150 words or less setting out the candidate's reasons for wanting to serve and their qualifications
 - Contact information (email, phone, street and mailing address)

Adjournment (Approximately 8:30 p.m.):

The next meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Attachment (1): Draft minutes for the October 16,2019 meeting

Attachment (2): Draft minutes for the November 20, 2019 meeting Attachment (3): Proposed Open Space Committee Budget

Attachment (4): Proposed Communications Committee Charter

Current Tierrasanta Community Council & Planning Group Members:

President: Jan Whitacre, janwhitacre@gmail.com

Vice President: Mike Ogilvie Treasurer: Steve Muckle Secretary: Emily Whittemore

Area 1 Director: (Mike Ogilvie), John Adair

Area 2 Director: Elvie Plaskota, Rich Thesing, and Dawn Nielsen

Area 3 Directors: (Jan Whitacre), (Emily Whittemore), Don Chick and Bob Lang

Area 4 Director: Mary Saxton, (Steve Muckle), and John Denune **Area 5 Director** (Village at Mission Valley): Vincent DelPidio

At Large: Kathleen Mueller Commercial Director: Vacant

Murphy Canyon: Charles Kreuzberger (non-voting)

Serra High School: Sofia Gilmore (non-voting) (Prospective)

Tierrasanta Community Council, 6030 Santo Road #435, San Diego, CA 92124