

Draft MINUTES for the Joint Meeting of the

Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group

Wednesday, July 27, 2022 • 6:30pm
Tierrasanta Recreation Center
11220 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92124
www.tierrasantacc.org

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, this meeting was held via videoconferencing. Information about meeting access was provided on the agenda and posted/distributed according to civil code.

The Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group meets generally in the following months: January, February, March, April, June, July, September, and October. Additional meetings may be called on an as needed basis. In order to be eligible for election to the Planning Group, a member must have attended a minimum of one meeting prior to the last day of January of the prior year and his/her attendance noted either via sign-in sheet or referenced in the minutes for a specific meeting.

Attendance:

Directors:

1.	Area1: Mike Ogilvie	Р	12. Area4: (vacant)	Α
2.	Area1: John Adair	Р	13. Murphy Canyon: Kelly Kolterman-Brown	Α
3.	Area1: Michael Ferrell	Р	14. Murphy Canyon: (vacant)	-
4.	Area2: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto	Α	15. Murphy Canyon: (vacant)	-
5.	Area2: (vacant)	-	16. Commercial: Chris Shamoon	Р
6.	Area2: Rich Thesing	Р	17. Village @ MV: Carol Kelley	Р
7.	Area3: Robert Lang	Р	-	
8.	Area3: Don Chick	Α		
9.	Area3: Rebecca Schacher	Р	Non-Voting Positions:	
10.	At Large: Ingrid Cornax	Р	Canyon Hills HS: Kate Chasin	Α
11.	Area4: (vacant)	-	carryon rims ris. Nate chashi	, ,

6:33pm Pledge of Allegiance; Present members introduced themselves; Nine members present and a quorum was determined. President Chris Shamoon conducted the meeting.

Convene a joint meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group, a City of San Diego recognized planning group, and the Tierrasanta Community Council, a 501(c)4 community association.

President: Chris Shamoon

Vice President: (Vacant)
Treasurer: Mike Ogilvie
Secretary: (Vacant)

Item A: Agenda Review/Requests for Continuance/Additions to the Agenda

There were no comments made with regard to the agenda.

Action Item 1: Approval of the Draft Minutes for the June 15, 2022 Joint Meeting of the Tierrasanta Community Council and Planning Group.

Motion to approve by Rich Thesing second by Mike Ogilvie and passed unanimously with the abstention of Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto and Michael Farrell due to absence.

Info Item 1: Updates by Government Representatives (limited to 2 minutes each)

- Fire Station 39 (Tierrasanta/Murphy Canyon): http://www.sandiego.gov/fire
- Police Department (Eastern Division): Community Service Officer Dave Gibson, 858-495-7919 dkqibson@pd.sandiego.gov
- U.S. Congressman Scott Peters: 858-455-5550 Cairo Williams <u>Cairo.Williams@mail.house.gov</u>
- State Senator Toni Atkins: 619-645-3133 Diana Lara <u>Diana.Lara@sen.ca.gov</u>
- Assembly Member Brian Maienschein: 858-675-0077 Rik Hauptfeld Rikard.Hauptfeld@asm.ca.gov
- 79th District Assembly Member Akilah Weber: 619-462-7878 Moana Alo Moana.Alo@asm.ca.gov
- County Supervisor Joel Anderson: 619-531-5522 Michael Kulis Michael.Kulis@sdcaounty.gov
- Mayor Todd Gloria: 619-964-6637 Emily Piatanesi Epiatanesi@sandiego.gov
- City Councilmember Raul Campillo: Vic Vettiyil 619-236-6749 vvettiyil@sandiego.gov
- Canyon Hills High School Principal Dr. Erica Renfree 858-496-8342 erenfree@sandi.net
- Board of Education: Board Member Kevin Beiser 619-838-5274 kbeiser@sandi.net
- City Attorney's Office: Ann Marie Council 619-533-6205 ACouncil@sandiego.gov
- MCAS Miramar: Kristin Camper 858-577-6603 kristin.camper@usmc.mil
- City Planning Department: Lesley Henegar. (619) 235-5208 <u>LHenegar@sandiego.gov</u>
- Tierrasanta Library: Librarian Judy Cunningham 858-573-1384 <u>JCunningham@sandiego.gov</u>
 4985 La Cuenta Blvd

Info Item 2: Non-Agenda Public Comment: limited to 2-minutes each

Eileen C spoke

Action Item 2: Concerts in the Park Funding

- The concerts committee needs up from funding in order to hold the concerts. The proposal is to move \$3k from the investment account into the operating fund for use to host the concerts until funding comes through.
- Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto explained that we will know more about grant funding from the County in September and we will potentially be reimbursed by the City.
- Jan Whitacre mentioned that there are community partners ready, willing and able to help ensure that the events can happen.
- Ingrid Cornax & Carol Kelley had questions about where the reimbursement funds will come

from.

Motion by Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto and seconded by Ingrid Cornax to transfer \$3k from the investment account to the operating fund for the Concerts in the Park Committee to use to pre-pay for the August concert. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto and seconded by Rich Thesing to give the Concerts in the Park Committee authority to enter into partnerships with the Kiwanis of Tierrasanta, Tierrasanta Foundation, Tierrasanta Junior Women's Club and Newbreak Church for the purpose of hosting the concerts. The motion passed unanimously.

Info Item 3: Reports from Committee and Community Liaisons

- Tierrasanta Community Development Committee: Wayne Holtan, Bill Reschke, John Hopper, Mary Saxton, Mike Ogilvie, John Adair, Rich Thesing,
- Elections: Hani Shatila, Chris Shamoon
- Annual Recognition: Chris Shamoon, Emily Whittemore, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Bylaws Committee: John Denune, Deanna Spehn, Mike Ogilvie, Mary Saxton
- Communications Committee: **Bob Lang**, Don Chick, John Denune
 - An outline of a better site is being created.
- Concerts in the Park Committee: Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Jan Whitacre, John Farmer, Cathy Newcomb
- Vision & Goals Committee: Bob Lang, Don Chick, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto, Ingrid Cornax
 - An update will be presented at the next meeting
- Canyon Hills High School: (Vacant)
- Community Planners Committee: Chris Shamoon, Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Miramar Community Leaders Forum: Mike Ogilvie, Don Chick
- Tierrasanta Recreation Council Liaison: Rich Thesing
- Mission Trails Regional Park Liaison: Rich Thesing and Betty Ogilvie
 - O Bob Lang gave an update on the sand spill.
 - Grace Sevilla from the San Diego County Water Authority explained that that accident happened because of an error with a cap and that there is a plan to correct and the repairs should potentially begin the first week of August.
 - The environmental impact is being explored.
- San Diego River Coalition: Rich Thesing and Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto
- Rock Quarry Conditional Use Permit: Rich Thesing and Kathleen Mueller

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn by Ingrid seconded by Dawn Nielsen-Lostritto. There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 7:31pm.

The next regular meeting will be 6:30 pm Wednesday, August 17, 2022.

Attachments can be found associated with the July 27, 2022 Agenda on TCC website.

http://www.tierrasantacc.org/2022-tcc-agendas-and-minutes